The Slow Change of Seasons

Standard
What a wonderful weekend spent with friends.  I was able to enjoy the splendor of Boston’s very own Arnold Arboretum  in Jamaica Plain wandering around the trees.  If you haven’t been there, go!  It’s free and beautiful and I always feel really great after a day there.  We’ve ventured out there in all seasons but winter and they have all been fantastic.  Hopefully this winter will bring another trip so I can complete my seasonal circuit! 
 
While we were in the area, we enjoyed some pizza at Peace O’ Pie  in Allston, MA.  This 100% vegan pizza place had plenty of tasty organic pizza options (that they let us mix and match) and even dessert!  I strongly recommend even for omnivores the one in our group thought the pizza was delicious!
 
Another noteworthy snack spot (this time right in my very own downtown Worcester, MA) is The Bean Counter.  Last night I had a hankering for something sweet so we set off in search for a treat to sedate my sweet tooth.  There were vegan and gluten-free options and a specialty drink menu that could be tailored to your liking.  I had a delicious oversized vanilla cupcake with sprinkles and I had to stop myself from ordering another one, reasoning that I would be back soon enough.  Great hang out spot with big comfy chairs and a nice window seat looking out onto Highland Street (perfect for people watching). 
 
What a fun time to be vegan.  The weather is changing and the earth is getting ready to freeze over for the winter.  What would I do without my farm stand on Grafton Street?  I can’t help but imagine a time where New England vegetarians and vegans would resort to all of their jarred and dried veggies from harvest, nuts and seeds,  and rely heavily on root vegetables until the thaw.  What a different world we live in now (not necessarily better just different).  I imagine it was much simpler to be in tune with what your body was telling you without all of the buzzing noise that we have now to distract us. 
 
If you’re in the mood for a laugh… check out this post I found on Vegetarians Are Evil.   By the way, is this for real?
Leave a Reply

