Dear World, Happy Vegetarian Day!

Standard
First and foremost, I would like to say Happy World Vegetarian Day!  This celebration of the meat free life is a wonderful opportunity to rub elbows with your fellow vegetarians (and conveniently falls on Meatless Monday for those omnivores out there!)  Prepare a vegetarian meal for dinner!  Have a vegetarian mid-day snack!  Visit an animal sanctuary!  In celebration of this time, I thought about what I could do that would be different than the things that I normally do- so I decided this week would be a make-up free week for me.  Kind of like lent for Catholics, I’ll be giving up something that I do every morning to remind me that animals suffer everywhere for no reason.  This one’s for you flipper.
 
This past weekend I had the pleasure of attending the North Quabbin Garlic & Arts Festival  with some family.  Luckily the weather held out and it was the perfect atmosphere to connect with nature and check out some very down to earth vendors. With plenty of vegan cart food options (and did I mention garlic?) I was right at home next to some earth loving people.  Definitely worth while!  I even got my very own fig tree!  It’s from a root graft so it should be producing fruit within the year!  Check back for some tasty fig recipes in about 12 months. 
 
In other news, I’ve begun sprouting!  Well, my height hasn’t changed at all but I have started my double decker sprouting mission!  Where? In my double decker sprout container of course.  One layer of alfalfa and the next soy beans (since I have an abundance of them from the SoyaJoy Milk Maker).  I will update with pictures and let you all know the progress of the little guys.  Today is officially day one. 
 
Food for thought: Organic or not… that is STILL the question.
After much internal debate about organic vs. not (and a couple of posts about it might I add) I attended a raw food meetup and learned about the Dirty Dozen.  That is, the food that you should definitely be buying Organic because they have the highest amount of pesticide residue left behind on them when purchased otherwise.  I took a look at the Environmental Working Group’s list and it makes sense- the soft membranes of these fruits seems like it would logically have the most dangerous exposure to pesticides.  There’s also a Clean 15 segment on there with those veggies that have the lowest amount of pesticide penetration.  Check it out – it’s worth your time.  (I also want to add that the EWG made it perfectly clear that even if you do not buy organic and are consuming some pesticides from your fruits and veggies, “the health benefits of a diet rich in fruits and vegetables outweigh the risks of pesticide exposure.”)
Leave a Reply

