Harms Vegetable Farm and Sugar House

Standard

Image

Pictured above (our first box!): Mixed Salad greens, scallions, kohlarabi, bok choi, green beans, cayenne pepper, red peppers, eggplant, chard

I was so excited when I got the email from Sonya Harms of Harms Farms in Brookfield that there was space for us to join her CSA (Community Supported Agriculture)!  When I called her back to confirm that we wanted to start yesterday (there are still 7 weeks left in the season so we have plenty of time to take advantage of all of the fresh produce we’ll be getting) she was more than pleasant and invited us down to her farm and home in Brookfield, MA so we could see our veggies growing right before our eyes.  (Moving forward I think I’ll take advantage of the Worcester pick-up option just because of convenience) however, being a visual learner, it was very important for me to see the farm with my own eyes.  Sonya took us around the back of her house and showed us her huge veggie farm- very exciting.  This sort of community involvement was exactly what I was looking for.  And the price is right!  With a pick up every Wednesday and the cost only being $25/week- I couldn’t be happier!  We even got a little newsletter letting us know everything that was stocked in our box and a few recipes and explanations for the less familiar vegetables that we would find in there (like Kohlarabi).  What a wonderful new adventure with some really nice new people.  Thank you Sonya and Luke!

About theveganseed

Once proud omnivore of 23 years, it was never important that I know where my food came from or why it was there. This blog is meant to document my journey as I explore Vegetarianism, Veganism, and all that's in between. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

