Cambridge Offerings and Sunkissed Mountains

Standard

Another marvelous weekend filled with new places, great adventure, and (of course) food!!  Saturday was our trip to Boston to find out what kind of veggie treats they had to offer us in the Cambridge area.  After our photo opps in Harvard I was able to snag a nice earth toned fair trade hemp purse from The Hempest.  With the thrill of the purchase still fresh in my mind, we decided an earlier dinner would be best (mainly because we had walked by the restaurant earlier and we couldn’t wait to check it out) and went down a cobblestone ally toward Veggie Planet. (Not to be confused with the also-in-Cambridge diner and bakery cousin Veggie Galaxy which we have to try next time). This adorable below-side-walk-level restaurant had a partially opened kitchen with a room to the side for seating complete with a little stage for performers.  The walls were covered in pictures from past shows and the tables were small and numerous encouraging the push-together for bigger parties.  With clearly labeled vegan options, and a choice to have any entree on a pizza, brown rice, or coconut rice, I was in heaven.  I got the Oddlot on brown rice but there were so many selections that I wish I could fit more!  (By the way I was so inspired by the “tofu mash”  that I’ll be giving my own version a go tonight for dinner- yes it is marinating in my fridge as we speak so keep your eyes peeled for it under recipes in the coming days).  It occured to us (after the fact and inspired by a group next to us) that it would be a great idea to order small pizza versions of some dishes and share!  A great reason to return!  Overall it was a really nice experience- the atmosphere and the food made for a great time. 

A hike up the great Mount Wachusett with an old friend filled up a beautiful Sunday afternoon.  We were able to power up the mountain and back down again in only an hour and a half (which is suprising considering all of the chatting we were doing).  We took the Balance Rock Trail to Indian Trail all the way to the top.  The view was breathtaking and it was nice to relax and catch our breath once we hauled up there. 
 
I’ve been going strong as far as excersize goes and am on my 3 mile week having found great success in the 2 mile minimum 6 days last week.  This morning was tough (because I had to wake up ever so slightly earlier to get a head start on the run) but I felt alive to run as the sun was rising and the cool temperature was a treat.   
 
Plucking out pieces of my non-vegan past:  It’s sad to think that the last time that I got my eyebrows waxed will be the last time that I ever get them waxed considering that most of the wax used is made from bees wax and/or honey (it’s only sad because I’m horrible at doing my own eyebrows).  I’ve been doing a pretty good job keeping up with them, however, I know there will come a time when I let them get away from me unintentionally.  Enter: the wonderful world of threading.
 
“Patiently” Waiting:  It’s been three days since the online purchase of my Soyajoy G3 Milk Maker and I had every intention of waiting until it came in and I tried it before posting about it but I’m just too excited to wait.  Amazon couldn’t have made this any easier because along with it, right from the comfort of my computer, I also ordered  25lbs. of organic soybeans shipping from Living Whole Foods.  The reviews all looked good and I’m excited that I’ll be able to make both raw and cooked milks from different nuts, beans hemp and other grains!! Merry Christmas to me!
About theveganseed

Once proud omnivore of 23 years, it was never important that I know where my food came from or why it was there. This blog is meant to document my journey as I explore Vegetarianism, Veganism, and all that's in between. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

